3 observations
-
- Ivits space stn - range +3
I always assumed you could use the range +3 booster to place the Ivits space stn in the same way you can use it to place a gaia former but when I tried to do this online there was no option. I dont see the logic in being able to place a gf and not the space stn. Could someone plz justify the difference?
- Itar rotation
I was also under the impression that for the Itar there were 2 phases of the beginning of the round. One where one takes income and one where you can decide what tech tiles to take with the power in the "gaia bowl". Given that the second part happens after the first, it seems reasonable to me that any power not possible to be used by taking tech tiles should be able to be rotated if the tech tile/track advancement allows for it. This isnt possible online and may not be possible according to the rules but if this is the case then I see a logical inconsistency with how power is dealt with in these 2 parts: Is power part of the first phase (income) only then what is the point of defining the tech taking part of the Itar as happening "after" the income phase? My point is that either there are 2 separate parts of setup for the Itar or there are not - having one set of rules applying only to power seems like an inconsistency.
- 25 satellites max
Some players dont know that there is a 25 satellite maximum. It might be good to include that somewhere in a mouse over info.
-
-
Both are octagon actions, which you can not combine (like you can also not combine the +3 range action with the power action '1 step').
-
The second phase of the Itars is part of the Gaia phase. The rules, however, are not clear on the order of things within that phase. But this post says you move power tokens to bowl 1 after the Itars ability: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2066028/article/30095102#30095102
-
-
@Robert-Shepherd when you would place the space station with the +3 range booster you would to combine two actions, it would be like combining the free dig with distance.
ah, Ewan just beat me to it.
-
BTW, does anyone know if the satellite that you have to place on the lost planet comes out of your 25 (according to the rules / here in this implementation)
-
Since you also put 2 satellites on the end goal trackers, and since the rules say to put on a satellite as a reminder, I would guess the lost planet doesn't take away a satellite. You can always see who owns the lost planet by looking at who is at the top of the nav track. If someone finds a reputable source though, that would be welcome. :)
-
Are right, forgot about those tracks, and I guess you would also lose 1 further satellite per player, if you play with variable turn order. Seems silly.
-
@Ewan Helge has confirmed here that only the satellites you actually use as satellites count towards the 25.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1891606/satellites-limit -
This is also addressed in the official federations FAQ, linked in the rules: only satellites used count towards the 25 limit.