BGS
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Groups
    • Login

    Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Gaia Project
    bugsolved
    10 Posts 3 Posters 82 Views
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • R Offline
      RGW1962
      last edited by coyotte508

      In game GPIT-TURN4-TABLE9 Ambas has just been permitted to have as his turn the use of teh +3 nav action without combining it with a mine build or gaia project. His entire turn was simply to use the range action.

      This is directly contrary to the rules: "...as a special action, you can take a Build a Mine action or Start a Gaia Project with your basic range increased by 3"

      C 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • C Offline
        coyotte508
        last edited by

        This came up before - and I think we found that an action could be used to waste a turn, but I can't give you a link.

        If you find an official source on BGG or ask the question there and a consensus is reached, we'll change the behavior of BGS

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
        • C Offline
          coyotte508
          last edited by

          This post is deleted!
          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • C Offline
            coyotte508 @RGW1962
            last edited by coyotte508

            @RGW1962 said in Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project:

            "...as a special action, you can take a Build a Mine action or Start a Gaia Project with your basic range increased by 3"

            The wording is "you can take", not "take", so worded as it is it implies the player can also choose not to take it.

            The tech tile is worded differently: "As a special action, gain 1 Q.I.C. and 5 credits." - not "you can gain..."

            But if you find an official source that says otherwise we'll fix it.

            R 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • L Offline
              lucasrrr
              last edited by lucasrrr

              Helge Ostertag anwsers this question here: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1909662/can-you-take-powerqicspecial-actions-if-you-cant-r

              Is it legal to take the 1 free step or increased range booster tile actions and not actually place a mine (or a gaiaformer, in the case of the range tile)? NO!

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
              • L Offline
                lucasrrr
                last edited by

                Helge also specifies a couple of other actions cannot be wasted entirely, that I think you could still here:

                Is it legal to take the 1/2 terraform step power action and build a mine on a Gaia Planet (i.e. not use any free steps)? NO!

                Is it legal to take the Gain a Tech Tile QIC action if there is no tech tile you can take? NO!

                Is it legal to take the 1/2 terraform step power action and not build a mine? NO!

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • C Offline
                  coyotte508
                  last edited by

                  I guess we need to fix some things ^^

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • R Offline
                    RGW1962 @coyotte508
                    last edited by

                    @coyotte508 said in Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project:

                    @RGW1962 said in Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project:

                    "...as a special action, you can take a Build a Mine action or Start a Gaia Project with your basic range increased by 3"

                    The wording is "you can take", not "take", so worded as it is it implies the player can also choose not to take it.

                    The tech tile is worded differently: "As a special action, gain 1 Q.I.C. and 5 credits." - not "you can gain..."

                    But if you find an official source that says otherwise we'll fix it.

                    The quote makes clear that when using the tile the action is to build a mine. If you don't build a mine then you haven't taken an action (range extension can't be an action since you're not allowed 2 actions in a turn) , so you haven't taken a turn.

                    C 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • C Offline
                      coyotte508 @RGW1962
                      last edited by

                      @RGW1962 an issue has been opened: https://github.com/boardgamers/gaia-project/issues/76

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • C Offline
                        coyotte508
                        last edited by

                        It's fixed!

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                        • First post
                          Last post