Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project
-
In game GPIT-TURN4-TABLE9 Ambas has just been permitted to have as his turn the use of teh +3 nav action without combining it with a mine build or gaia project. His entire turn was simply to use the range action.
This is directly contrary to the rules: "...as a special action, you can take a Build a Mine action or Start a Gaia Project with your basic range increased by 3"
-
This came up before - and I think we found that an action could be used to waste a turn, but I can't give you a link.
If you find an official source on BGG or ask the question there and a consensus is reached, we'll change the behavior of BGS
-
This post is deleted! -
@RGW1962 said in Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project:
"...as a special action, you can take a Build a Mine action or Start a Gaia Project with your basic range increased by 3"
The wording is "you can take", not "take", so worded as it is it implies the player can also choose not to take it.
The tech tile is worded differently: "As a special action, gain 1 Q.I.C. and 5 credits." - not "you can gain..."
But if you find an official source that says otherwise we'll fix it.
-
Helge Ostertag anwsers this question here: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1909662/can-you-take-powerqicspecial-actions-if-you-cant-r
Is it legal to take the 1 free step or increased range booster tile actions and not actually place a mine (or a gaiaformer, in the case of the range tile)? NO!
-
Helge also specifies a couple of other actions cannot be wasted entirely, that I think you could still here:
Is it legal to take the 1/2 terraform step power action and build a mine on a Gaia Planet (i.e. not use any free steps)? NO!
Is it legal to take the Gain a Tech Tile QIC action if there is no tech tile you can take? NO!
Is it legal to take the 1/2 terraform step power action and not build a mine? NO!
-
I guess we need to fix some things ^^
-
@coyotte508 said in Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project:
@RGW1962 said in Bug - +3 range action permitted without mine build or gaia project:
"...as a special action, you can take a Build a Mine action or Start a Gaia Project with your basic range increased by 3"
The wording is "you can take", not "take", so worded as it is it implies the player can also choose not to take it.
The tech tile is worded differently: "As a special action, gain 1 Q.I.C. and 5 credits." - not "you can gain..."
But if you find an official source that says otherwise we'll fix it.
The quote makes clear that when using the tile the action is to build a mine. If you don't build a mine then you haven't taken an action (range extension can't be an action since you're not allowed 2 actions in a turn) , so you haven't taken a turn.
-
@RGW1962 an issue has been opened: https://github.com/boardgamers/gaia-project/issues/76
-
It's fixed!